Six Sigma Certifications

Written by Nicholas Kamuda
Bookmark and Share

Six Sigma certifications are available for a variety of training levels. Those that wish to receive certification can also choose from a few different instructional environments. The main options for those wishing to pursue Six Sigma certifications are private training companies, which offer a range to types and programs, and enrollment in a Six Sigma school.

Six Sigma schools exist in many locations in the United States. Two popular schools for organizational training are the Six Sigma Academy and Motorola University. The Six Sigma Academy was founded by two individuals who had instrumental roles in the application of Six Sigma techniques to Motorola during the 1980s. Motorola University offers programs in many locations, all over the world.

Three Types of Six Sigma Certifications

Other Six Sigma training companies offer consultation and certification programs both onsite and through open enrollment. There are three main levels of Six Sigma certifications available: Green Belts, Black Belts, and Champions. Champion certification can provide responsible individuals who are in the position to initiate Six Sigma reforms with the tools and understanding they need to select project leaders and allocate resources. Champion classes also give those individuals a detailed introduction to Six Sigma and a look at what kinds of demands initiating a Six Sigma program will put on a business.

Green Belt certification gives individuals the ability to work through Six Sigma processes and reforms. Black Belt certification gives candidates the proper tools to perform in-depth analyses and develop outlines to improve capabilities and output. It also provides people with the ability to develop and instigate new plans for monitoring operations.

Bookmark and Share