Ged Programs

Written by Ingrid Chen
Bookmark and Share

A GED, or General Educational Development test, is a measure of the skills needed to receive a high school diploma. This test is made specifically for those who did not complete their diplomas for whatever reason. The GED is administered in every state several times a year, and is overseen by the American Council of Education (ACE). There are over 3,000 testing centers in North America, so it is likely that anyone can find a test center convenient to his or her location.

In order to pass the GED testing, one must score at least in the 60th percentile, meaning better than 60 percent of all graduating high school students. Each of the five subjects is graded from 200 to 800 points, with a minimum score of 410 to pass each subject, and an average of 450 points per subject to pass the entire test. A score of two or better on a four-point scale is necessary for passing the essay portion, which affects the entire test score as well.

Why Should I Get a GED?

With a growing economy and increasing globalization, job opportunities now require a basic understanding of social systems, civics and government, math, and of course the ability to read and write well. All of these skills are covered in the GED testing. Having the qualification is a great indicator of your basic knowledge level and skills.

Rules and regulations vary from state to state. There are some generally understood rules, however. The test taker must be at least 16 years old, not attending high school and not a diploma holder. Some states require testing individuals to be out of school for a certain period of time before being allowed to take the GED test. The test itself is nationally standardized, based on the same five main subjects (reading, writing, math, science and social studies).

Bookmark and Share