Ged Scores

Written by Ingrid Chen
Bookmark and Share

A General Educational Development (GED) is considered the standard certification for high school degree equivalency. Developed initially as a means for WWII veterans to complete high school degrees, the test is now available to the general public. The idea was to allow young veterans the same opportunity to gain a diploma necessary for entering (or re-entering) the workforce.

The GED exam is overseen by the American Council of Education (ACE), and is offered several times a year, sometimes dependent on testing location. There are over 3,000 testing centers in North America, making finding a local testing center relatively easy. Each testing area has differing requirements. However, there are a few common standards, such as the minimum age of 16 years old, and that the testing individual not be presently enrolled in high school.

How the GED Test is Scored

There are five major subjects tested on the GED: math, science, social studies, reading and writing. Each subject is graded on a scale from 200 to 800 points. The testing individual must achieve a score of 410 for every subject, and have a total subject score average of 450 in order to pass the exam. The essay portion of the writing section is scored individually, based on a four-point scale. The testing individual must achieve a score of at least two out of four.

The essay test is often a topic of focus for individuals not particularly strong in writing. The essay questions are generally "how to" in form; questions may include composing a cover letter or resume, or explaining the process of planning a trip. In total, the testing individual must be in the 60th percentile of high school equivalency graduates in order to receive a GED. That means he or she must have a score equal to or better than 60 percent of all high school graduates.

Bookmark and Share