Illinois Insurance Continuing Education

Written by Helen Glenn Court
Bookmark and Share

Illinois insurance continuing education programs are eased by Illinois's participation in a continuing education reciprocity agreement signed by 46 other states. (Massachusetts, Florida, and Rhode Island had not signed by mid-2004.) What this means is that licensed insurance professionals resident to Illinois can take accredited courses in any of the 47-signatory states and have them count toward the required total for license renewal.

The Specifics of Illinois Insurance Continuing Education

All resident licensed insurance professionals in the state must have completed at least 30 hours of Illinois insurance continuing education credits before applying for renewal of their license. Licenses are good for two years. As prerequisite to the exam, general applicants to practice insurance in the state must have 15 hours of course work completed in any of the five main lines of insurance.

These lines are life, accident/health, fire, casualty, and personal lines/property casualty. Each is tested as part of Illinois insurance continuing education. The exams are in a two-part, multiple choice format. Each has roughly 100 questions. The first parts focus general knowledge questions and the second parts on related Illinois statutes and regulations.

Walk-in examination testing is not an option. Reservations should be made at least three days before testing date. You may take up to two separate examinations may be taken at one examination date--with the exception of the exam in personal insurance lines. If you miss an exam, you're still liable for the fee. Renewal fees are $180 dollars. Fees are not required for those taking (and presumably passing) examinations for additional insurance lines. Valid excuses for missing an exam or being late for one include illness, death in the family, disabling traffic accident, jury duty, court appearance, military duty, and weather emergency.


Bookmark and Share