Pennsylvania Insurance Continuing Education

Written by Helen Glenn Court
Bookmark and Share

Pennsylvania revamped its insurance licensing law in 2002 (Act 147), which has had of course some impact on Pennsylvania insurance continuing education. The move, overall, was to move in line with the laws and requirements of other states. The model for this move, as Pennsylvania clearly indicates, was a model act put forth by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

A Few Facts on Pennsylvania Insurance Continuing Education and Licensing

Licenses are good for two years. Insurance agents and brokers no longer have separate licenses. A single producer's license now covers both. Applications no longer must be notarized.

New applicants must--as in a growing number of states--be fingerprinted in the name of consumer protection if they are not already licensed in another state. License fees are $55 for residents and $110 for nonresidents. Insurance producers are permitted to charge a fee as well as a commission in commercial transactions, as long as they give notice in writing beforehand.

Twenty-four hours of reciprocal state or Pennsylvania insurance continuing education course work are prerequisite to sitting for license renewal exams. At least three of those hours must be in professional ethics. Credits may be earned in a traditional. classroom setting, through self-study, and as well through both print and Internet programs. Pennsylvania insurance continuing education packages include employee benefits (24 full credits), life and financial advisors (24 full credits), and property and casualty. Individual courses include--but are not limited to--ethics, employment law, commercial general liability, wills and trusts, and estate planning.


Bookmark and Share