Corn Free

Written by Jill Morrison
Bookmark and Share

There are various reasons for choosing a corn free diet. One reason is allergy problems or food sensitivities. Allergies to corn can cause rashes, hives, or gastrointestinal distress. Another reason is religious customs. Many Jewish people exclude corn from their diet during Passover.

Finding Corn Free Foods

Food labels can be misleading and incomplete. Some foods may contain corn syrup, such as vanilla extract, canned fruit, frozen orange juice, and evaporated milk. A reliable source of corn free foods are foods certified as kosher for Passover. These foods will have a "P" or a "U" on their labeling to indicate that the product has been checked by a rabbi or kosher organization.

Passover is a time when extra products are available. These choices benefit those with allergies and sensitivities as well as those following religious customs. An example of a product available without corn is marshmallows. While they normally might contain corn syrup, kosher marshmallows for Passover use potato syrup. They are free of wheat, gluten, corn, soy, rice, and yeast.

Many other kosher products are available without corn or corn syrup. Some examples would be canned and dried fruits, baking powders such as arrowroot powder or potato starch, and candies, crackers, and cereals. Kosher food suppliers are a dependable source for corn free foods.


Bookmark and Share