Corn Free Products

Written by Jill Morrison
Bookmark and Share

Corn free products are used in a variety of special diets. They can be purchased by people with food sensitivities or allergies. Those with allergies to corn may experience gastrointestinal distress, hives, or rashes. Another reason to purchase corn free items is because of religious customs. In the Jewish religion, corn is excluded from diets during Passover.

Finding Corn Free Products

Corn free products can be difficult to find because food labels are often misleading or incomplete. Some foods may contain corn syrup, such as orange juice, evaporated milk, canned fruit, and vanilla extract. You should read labels carefully if you are trying to maintain a corn free diet. The most reliable sources of corn free items are foods that are certified Kosher for Passover.

Many corn free products are available during Passover. These foods will have a "P" or a "U" on the label. These symbols indicate that the product has been checked by a Rabbi or Kosher organization. Many products are available without corn or corn syrup. For instance, canned and dried fruits, candies, crackers, cereals, and some baking powders that are Kosher can be purchased. Kosher products are the most dependable sources of corn free foods.

Those who are allergic to corn as well as those following religious customs will benefit from corn free foods. Marshmallows are an example of a product that is normally made with corn syrup, but can be made without it. Kosher marshmallows for Passover are made from potato syrup instead. They are also free of wheat, gluten, corn, rice, yeast, and soy.


Bookmark and Share