Kosher Diet

Written by Jill Morrison
Bookmark and Share

A Kosher diet reflects the spiritual beliefs of the Jewish religion. For a diet to be Kosher, food must be prepared in a certain way. Also, only certain types of foods may be consumed. Kosher laws are taken from the Old Testament of the Bible, the Torah. They have been practiced by Jews for over 3,300 years.

Maintaining a Kosher Diet

To maintain a Kosher diet, you must first prepare your kitchen. Cooking areas and utensils must go through a kosherizing process. Then you must only purchase Kosher types of foods. There are three types of Kosher foods and they are meat, dairy, and parve.

Kosher meat products are taken from animals with split hooves and that chew their own cud. Kosher animals include cow, goat, or lamb. Non-Kosher animals include pig, camel, and rabbit. Kosher fowl animals include chicken, duck and turkey.

Milk and other dairy products must be taken from Kosher animals to be considered fit for a Kosher diet. Kosher dairy products must be kept separate and must not be cooked with meat products. Parve foods are considered to be neutral because they are neither meat nor dairy. Parve foods become dairy when cooked with dairy products and become a meat product when cooked with meat.

Bookmark and Share