Parve

Written by Jill Morrison
Bookmark and Share

Parve is a certain category of Kosher food. It is considered neutral because it is neither meat nor dairy. The other two types of Kosher foods are meat and dairy. For meals to remain Kosher, meat and dairy products must be kept separate. But, parve products may be cooked or served with either dairy or meat and will remain Kosher.

A Kosher diet is generally used in Jewish households. The laws of Kosher have been observed for thousands of years and can be found in the Old Testament of the Bible, the Torah. Eating Kosher meals and maintaining a Kosher kitchen is a way to show spirituality and respect for Jewish tradition.

Options in Parve Products

There are many types of parve food items that can be used as snacks or in cooking a Kosher meal. Some examples include fruits, grains, vegetables, and fish that have fins and scales. So, salmon, flounder and halibut are Kosher, but shark, swordfish, sturgeon, and catfish are not Kosher. When any of these "neutral" foods are cooked with meat or dairy products, they will become meat or dairy, according to the laws of Kosher.

Many snacks and desserts are neutral and are considered Kosher. They are often ordered online and many purchase gift baskets filled with these items. Popular snack choices include Kosher taffy, jelly beans, chocolate bars, marshmallows, mints, and lollipops. You can even purchase Kosher beverages and sauces such as coffee, Chai tea, or Char-B-Que sauce.


Bookmark and Share