Soy Free

Written by Jill Morrison
Bookmark and Share

There are a few different reasons that one may choose a soy free diet. Some people may have allergies or may be sensitive to soy. In fact, the most common allergy among infants is to soy. Symptoms of an allergy to soy include hives, rashes, breathing problems, gastrointestinal distress, or anaphylaxis.

Another reason for a soy free diet is because of religious customs. In the Jewish religion, soy is excluded from diets during Passover. Passover lasts eight days and follows a strict set of rules about foods that can and cannot be consumed. Soy and corn are two of the many food items that may be considered Kosher during the year, but are not Kosher during Passover.

Maintaining a Soy Free Diet

It can be difficult to maintain a soy free diet because so many foods are not labeled properly. Menu items in a restaurant may also contain soy products without your knowledge. To make sure the foods you eat are free from soy, you should check labels and ingredients in foods thoroughly. You can also ask about which menu items contain soy when you visit restaurants, or request soy products to be removed from certain dishes.

Another way to avoid soy in food products is to learn more about soy. You should learn the technical terms for soy so you can recognize which foods have soy. For instance soy can be found in infant formula milk, Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), edamame (soy beans), tofu, miso, meat alternatives, and in Lecithin which is extracted from soy oil. You should avoid these products if you are trying to eliminate soy from your diet. You can also purchase foods that are certified Kosher for Passover to safely avoid soy products.


Bookmark and Share