Soy Free Products

Written by Jill Morrison
Bookmark and Share

Soy free products may be used in various special diets. Many people have allergies to soy or are sensitive to soy products. Soy is the most common product that causes infants to have an allergic reaction. Those who are allergic to soy products may have reactions such as rashes, hives, anaphylaxis, gastrointestinal distress, or breathing problems. A soy free diet can help you to avoid these reactions if you are sensitive to soy products.

Soy free products are also consumed as a religious custom. In the Jewish religion, soy is excluded for diets during Passover. Passover lasts eight days and follows a strict set of rules about foods that can be consumed during this time. Soy may be considered Kosher for Jewish people during the year, but it is not considered to be Kosher during Passover.

Finding Soy Free Products

Many foods are not labeled properly or accurately, so it can be difficult to maintain a soy free diet. The best way top be sure that you are purchasing soy free products is by looking for food items that are labeled Kosher for Passover. The items will have a "U" or a "P" on the label, which means they have been inspected by a Rabbi or Kosher organization.

You can remove soy from your diet by thoroughly checking labels and by knowing the technical names for soy products. Examples of soy products that may not be labeled as having soy are edamame, infant formulas, Lecithin, miso, tofu, and meat alternative products. Because menu items do not often list ingredients, you can ask which items are made with soy, or request soy to be excluded from certain dishes at restaurants.


Bookmark and Share