Endometriosis Stages

Written by Amy Hall
Bookmark and Share

Endometriosis has four stages, similar to other diseases such as cancer. Stage one is rather mild, with only a slight bit of tissue growth found in the pelvic cavity. When endometriosis is diagnosed at stage one, it is much easier to treat with various medications, such as birth control pills. Doctors will often recommend birth control pills to women who do not wish to become pregnant and are still young. Taking birth control pills can ward off symptoms of endometriosis in women who have a genetic link to this disease.

Stage two endometriosis is still considered mild, however, the growth has managed to penetrate more deeply into the affected tissues. Again, birth control pills may be the recommended course of treatment in this case, as a means of preventing further adhesions and scar tissue from forming. Birth control pills will stop ovulation and in some cases your period, which prevents any endometrial shedding internally from month to month.

Stage three endometriosis is moderate, with more advanced scarring and tissue growth. Stage three endometriosis also presents the possibility of painful cysts that are located on the ovaries, fallopian tubes, and perhaps in and around the uterus. Treatment may involve surgery in addition to birth control pills and pain medication.

Understanding the Stages of Endometriosis

Finally, stage four endometriosis is the most severe and problematic. Tissue growth is extensive and invasive, penetrating the affected layers of tissue more deeply. Stage four involves many of the organs in the pelvic cavity, and the uterus and ovaries are often covered in scar tissue and the fallopian tubes are usually completed blocked. Surgery is usually the only effective treatment at this point that can remove the adhesions, cysts, and scar tissue that cause extreme pain and discomfort.

Bookmark and Share