Holiday Flag

Written by Donald Sparacin
Bookmark and Share

There are thirteen legal holidays in the United States, and there is a holiday flag for every one of them. There are other holidays for which decoration with a holiday flag is a traditional thing to do as well. Halloween, Valentine's Day, St. Patrick's Day are a few of those days for which we fly a holiday flag that are not official legal holidays. Nonetheless, a holiday flag is something that shows our neighbors that we are in observance of something on the day or days we mount it on our flagpoles.

A Holiday Flag Throughout the Year

The first holiday flag we put out is either a New Year holiday flag or Martin Luther King Jr. Day flag in January. February brings out the Lincoln, Washington, or Valentine flag. March features the St. Patrick's Day holiday flag or the first day of spring flag.

April gives us the religious holiday flag of Easter or Passover. May brings out the Mother's Day flag and Memorial Day features many patriotic flags and banners. June 14th is Flag Day, and we all show our patriotism by flying the United States flag. June also has Father's Day, but it is doubtful that many people fly flags for us unsung heroes. July Fourth is another day for patriotism to rear its head, and poor August hasn't any recognizable holiday flag to fly.

September brings us Labor Day, Patriot Day, Grandparents' Day, Rosh Hashanah, and autumn. October contains Columbus Day and the ever-popular holiday flag day of Halloween. November will have us putting up a Veteran's Day and Thanksgiving holiday flag. And finally we have Hanukah and Christmas in December. How many days do you fly a holiday flag?

Bookmark and Share