New York Bar Exam

Written by Jill Morrison
Bookmark and Share

The New York Bar Exam is given upon graduation from law school. Passing the exam is required for a law graduate to become an Attorney of Law. The exam is given over two days and covers two specific portions.

The first portion of the New York Bar Exam is the New York portion. It consists of 50 multiple choice questions, five essay questions, and one Multistate Performance Test (MPT). The MPT requires the test-taker to complete a task assigned by the National Conference of Bar Examiners using resource materials they are given.

The second part of the exam is the Multistate Bar Examination portion. It is prepared by the National Conference of Bar Examiners. 200 multiple choice questions cover the topics of Contracts and Torts, Constitutional Law, Real Property, Evidence, and Criminal Law.

Qualifications for Applicants to Take the New York Bar Exam

There are four qualifications that must be met for an applicant to take the New York Bar Exam. Applicants must graduate from an American Bar Association approved law school. They may graduate from a non-approved law school with practice in a jurisdiction where admitted for five years. They must have a combination of law school and law office study.

Bookmark and Share