Driving With A Suspended License

Written by Amy Hall
Bookmark and Share

Driving with a suspended license is a serious no-no. If you get caught, you will be charged with a gross misdemeanor, which means you could potentially face one year in jail, in addition of having to pay fines up to $5,000. It's obviously not a wise choice to make.

Furthermore, if you are here in the United States on a visa, you could be deported if you get caught driving with a suspended license, or no license at all. Keep in mind that if you get charged with a Washington DUI, you will more than likely have your license suspended for 90 days, unless you request a hearing within 30 days of your arrest. Washington state drunk driving laws are strictly enforced, and you will not get your license back unless you go to your hearing with an attorney.

Driving with a Suspended License Can Cost You Jail Time

If you are caught driving with a suspended license, the punishments can include a revocation of your license. However, if the court has suspended your license due to drunk driving, you may be able to apply for a probationary license which will allow you to drive to and from work. You may have to supply the Department of Motor Vehicles with SR22 insurance, which is a high risk insurance pool for people involved in DUI convictions.

The best thing you can do if you have had your license suspended is to hire an experienced attorney who can help you. Request a hearing and ask for the arresting officer to be there, as well as your attorney. Take notes and make sure that all the facts in the police report are accurate, as any errors can cause you to lose your license for up to one year if you are convicted.


Bookmark and Share