Washington Drunk Driving Penalties

Written by Amy Hall
Bookmark and Share

Washington drunk driving penalties are no joke. If you've been charged with a Washington DUI, you can expect to face some serious consequences. Right off the bat, you may lose your driver's license for 90 days if you don't file for a hearing within 30 days of your arrest.

Additional Washington drunk driving penalties can include up to one year of jail time, fines that reach $5,000, which do not include legal fees, and five years of probation. Furthermore, you will probably have to undergo an alcohol assessment, and a judge may order an ignition interlock device to be installed on your vehicle. This device requires you to provide a breath sample, upon which time it will either start the car or not if alcohol is detected on your breath.

Strict Washington Drunk Driving Penalties

If you understand the effects of alcohol on your body, it may make it easier for you to avoid Washington drunk driving penalties. Many people are not aware of the factors that cause alcohol to take control of the body and mind. First of all, alcohol is absorbed directly into the bloodstream within about 50 minutes of consumption. It then takes about 60 minutes for your body to get rid of the alcohol from the body through the kidneys and liver. Many people have two drinks in a row, but don't feel intoxicated. This is because it can take almost an hour for the alcohol to be absorbed into the bloodstream.

So if you were to have just two beers, and then immediately get in your car, you would more than likely be at the legal blood alcohol limit of .08. Furthermore, women tend to get drunk faster than men because they are smaller in size, and have more body fat. Eating food can help absorb some of the alcohol, but it will not keep you from getting drunk if you are consuming drink after drink. When you know the facts, you can avoid the problem right from the start.


Bookmark and Share