Florida Post-license Courses

Written by Kathleen Gagne
Bookmark and Share

Right after you obtain your Florida real estate license, you should begin planning when to take the required Florida post-license courses. That's because the state requires you to complete an additional 45 hour course within your first licensing period of 18-24 months. If you miss that deadline for any reason, your sales associate license becomes void. If that happens, you will have to start all over again taking pre-licensing courses and taking the initial licensing test a second time.

Florida Post-License Courses Online

As with the pre-license prep and actual courses, the post-license course can be taken online. That gives you the chance to set your own hours and to spread out those hours over time so that you will be ready to take the test within the recommended period. Like teachers, doctors, and other professionals, real estate professionals must keep up with the latest changes to existing real estate laws and procedures in order to insure the highest quality of service to their clients.

Florida post-license courses are designed with that goal in mind. Course books are updated regularly and supplemented by several standard real estate texts as well. Some of the topics covered in Florida post-license courses include brokerage relationships and license law, real estate ethics and education, and information and technology in real estate. There are also reviews of valuing residential property and sales and option contracts as well as many more topics.

Post-License Courses Testing

The State of Florida requires that real estate agents pass a final exam at the end of the post-license course. There are several strict rules regarding the test. For example, once you start the exam, you may not log out and return, and you must complete the entire test in one sitting. If you exit accidentally or fail the exam, you will have to wait a minimum of 30 days before you can try again. Those who do not pass the exam on the first try will usually be able to review the materials in their online course during the 30-day waiting period.


Bookmark and Share