Florida Real Estate Broker License

Written by Kathleen Gagne
Bookmark and Share

In order to get a Florida real estate broker license, you must first obtain a Florida real estate associate's license, and you must have completed at least 12 months of real estate experience in the previous five years. If you have been a licensed real estate broker in another state, you may be able to apply that experience toward a Florida license. A Florida real estate sales associate who wants to get a Florida real estate broker license must complete the sales associate post-licensing education before applying for a broker license.

Pre-Licensing - Taking the Florida Real Estate Broker License Course

You must complete a 72-hour Florida Real Estate Commission-approved course. The course must consist of 72 hours and must cover the topics required by the FREC. You will have to submit a completed application, including a fingerprint card and the associated fees.

Another requirement is that you must take the Florida Real Estate Broker Examination and pass it with a grade of 75 or more correct out of 100 questions. Finally, you must submit an RE 2050-1 Form in order to activate your license. You can actually submit this form at the same site where you take the exam, and you will be able to begin practicing as a real estate broker immediately.

After You Get Your Florida Real Estate Broker License

As with the Florida real estate associate's license, the broker's license comes with a post-licensing education requirement. This means taking 60 hours of classroom instruction before you renew your broker license. This course, too, must be approved by the FREC and must cover designated topics.


Bookmark and Share