Texas State Realtors

Written by Blaire Chandler-Wilcox
Bookmark and Share

As a group, Texas Realtors are devoted not only to professionalism and integrity, but also to continuing education. Texas Realtors have a sworn obligation to maintain their education and knowledge within the field. As a result, the best will not rest on their laurels after certification, but will continue their learning via specific training.

Codes of Conduct. . .in Alphabetical Order

ABR stands for Accredited Buyer's Agent. This certification is the only nationally recognized designation for buyer's agents. If you're interested in buying a home, selecting an ABR-certified agent is a smart step. Another designation is CIPS, which stands for Certified International Property Specialist. This typically denotes a Realtor whose primary interest and expertise is international property. CRB, on the other hand, stands for Certified Real Estate Brokerage Manager. This is a title of distinction for owners and managers of brokerages.

CRS, on the other hand, stands for Certified Residential Specialist. Individuals who have earned this designation have completed considerable certification courses in various areas of residential properties, including listings, selling, advising on investment, and financing mortgages. GRI stands for Graduate (of the) Realtor Institute, indicating that one has completed required coursework and has received the respect of one's peers in the field.

If one is looking to buy property in Texas, taking note of these designations makes excellent business sense. Residential buyers should check for the ABR, CRS, and GRI credentials among the Realtors considered. Buying a home is the largest purchase most of us make in a lifetime. Entrust this responsibility to those bound to best practices, and whose professional designations prove their devotion to their customers.

Bookmark and Share