Us Open Golf History

Written by Sandy Mitchell
Bookmark and Share

The U.S. Open golf championship is the premier United States golfing event. Held annually in June, this event crowns the "best golfer" in the United States. First held in 1895, the U.S. Open is held at a different course each year, and past venues have included Pebble Beach, outside of Monterey, California, Pinehurst in North Carolina, and Oakmont in Pennsylvania.

Golfers from all over the world compete for this prestigious honor. The tournament is open to any professional golfer and to any amateur golfer with a handicap of 1.4 or lower. In 2005, over 9000 applicants competed for the 156 starting spots. Regional qualifying rounds narrow the field.

A History of Excellence

The U.S. Open Championship is a four-day event with eighteen holes played daily. After two days, the field is narrowed to the top sixty scores (including ties). Four golfers have won the championship four times each: Willie Anderson in the early 1900s, Ben Hogan in the 1940s and 1950s, Bobby Jones in the 1920s and 1930s (before retiring at age 28 to build golf courses), and Jack Nicklaus, the "Golden Bear," in the 1960s and 1970s. Champions are exempt from qualifying at future championships for ten years.

The U.S. Open Championship is televised around the world on network and cable channels. In addition, over 38,000 spectators from twenty-five countries witness the tournament in person. The winners share over six million dollars in prize money, with over $1,125,000 awarded to the champion.

Bookmark and Share