Are Skittles Vegan

Are skittles vegan

What candies are vegan?

You might have already known that some candies are vegan. But what is a vegan? A vegan diet excludes any animal products such as milk from cows, eggs, chickens, meat from pigs, and others. This means that a vegan diet usually contains only whole plant foods like vegetables, fruits, grains, and nuts. If you have switched to a vegan or plant-based diet you must have been checking online what other sweets that can be tasty but vegan. One of the well-known candies is Skittles. These are candies in different colors that are sweet and tasty. But many still have doubts and were bothered by the question “are Skittles vegan?”

Are skittles vegan

What are Skittles?

Skittles are candies that are shaped like buttons with different vibrant colors. It has “S” in every candy imprinted on its hard sugar shells which are almost similar to the M & M products that have the letter “M”. These candies are known to be fruit-flavored candies that consist mainly of sugar,  corn syrup, citric acid, and other natural and artificial flavors. 

Are Skittles Vegan?

Yes! Skittles are vegan. Unlike other candy products which contain milk, gelatin, and other ingredients that are from animal products. Skittles are colored candies with flavored sugar which makes them sweet and tasty. Skittles are high in calories that include certain artificial additives, and palm oil, and have no nutrient beyond the calories that it has. Skittles are highly suggested to vegans as treats though if you are trying to just make a weight loss diet, skittles still have high calories which aren’t good for a diet. Nonetheless, it is a good treat for every vegan who wants to try some candies that are known to be vegan.

Skittles are made from entirely plant-based ingredients that are rest assured for ethical vegans who want to avoid animal products. It is dairy-free, gelatin-free, carmine-free, gluten-free, and plant-based.

What are the ingredients in Skittles?

Ingredients of certain products change over time due to product development. At first, the original formula of skittles contained gelatin but was removed in their production last 2009. Gelatin is a colorless ingredient that is derived from collagen of animal parts which is making the old skittles formula not vegan. now on 2022, here’s the current ingredient of Skittles:

Sugar

This is one of the most substantial ingredients in Skittle. Sugars are vegan, it comes from a whole plant that is processed with bone biochar.

Corn Syrup

This is like sugar that gives sweetness to the candy but it also creates the chewy texture of the Skittles. This is used as an alternative to gelatin.

Corn Starch

Incorrect terms, it is a modified cornstarch ingredient. The starch used was processed either by treating with acid, roasting, or others.

Citric Acid

This is commonly found in citrus fruit like lemons and limes that give a sour taste.

Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil

This is commonly used in many processed foods. It is from a palm plant that acts as a preservative so the product won’t spoil. This helps in making a shelf-stable product, which means there’s no need to keep it in the refrigerator to avoid spoilage, Many have thought that this isn’t a plant-based oil. But technically, this is a plant-based ingredient.

Tapioca Dextrin

Unlike modified starch, this is a simple starch that serves as a binder and coating on the candies. It is from tapioca, usually known as “pudding” or “boba tea”.

Natural and Artificial Flavors

Skittles are not fruit treats. Colors are artificial. These are Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, and Red 40.

What are the Flavor Variations of Skittles?

Skittles are made in different flavors. Changes in Artificial colors and flavors were also made/ here are some of them:

  • Original Skittles
  • Brightside Skittles
  • Darkside Skittles
  • Sour Skittles
  • Sweets & Sour Skittles
  • Sweet Heat Skittles
  • Tropical Skittles
  • Wild Berry Skittles

Are Sour Skittles Vegan?

Like other flavors, sour skittles have the same ingredient list as the others. It contains sugar, palm kernel oil, Natural Flavors, artificial flavors, and others. Sour Skittles doesn’t contain any animal-derived products. Skittles are made in different varieties but the ingredients did not change. Many people think that sour skittles contain gelatin but the production has been changed. Corn syrup was used as an alternative or substitute to bind candy intact. 

Skittles are known as vegan products. Although the original Skittle formula before 2009 is not because of Gelatin. Manufacturers removed it making skittle vegan so if you are a vegan trying to avoid animal products or animal-derived ingredients you must not hesitate to try the new formula of Skittles. Check out this article to see if Twizzlers are vegan

Sources:

https://happyhappyvegan.com/are-skittles-vegan/

https://www.articleinsider.com/are-twizzlers-vegan/

https://yourveganjourney.com/are-skittles-vegan/

https://www.articleinsider.com/are-sour-patch-kids-vegan/

By webmaster

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts

No widgets found. Go to Widget page and add the widget in Offcanvas Sidebar Widget Area.